Remembrance and Celebration days

In the 20th century, four days were added to the Jewish calendar. They all come between Pesach (Passover) and Shavuot (Pentecost). Two (Yom HaShoah and Yom HaZikkaron) are days of mourning and remembrance; two (Yom HaAtzma’ut and Yom Yerushalayim) are days of celebration. They reflect the history of the Jewish people and the Zionist movement in recent times. Some Jews mark these days as religious occasions, with special prayers and rituals in the synagogue. Others see them exclusively as national, secular days.

The first of the two days of mourning and remembrance is marked on the 27th of the month of Nissan, just six days after the end of Pesach. This day is Holocaust Remembrance Day, or Yom HaShoah, in memory of the six million Jews murdered in the Holocaust during the Second World War. It is marked throughout the country with a two-minute siren blast in the morning, but the central commemorative ceremonies are held at Yad Va’Shem in Jerusalem and the Ghetto Fighter’s House on Kibbutz Lochamei HaGeta’ot, near Nahariya.

Press pic to see full ceremony


Exactly one week later, on the 4th of the month of Iyyar, Israelis remember the fallen soldiers and the victims of war and terror. This day is called Yom HaZikkaron, the day of remembrance. On this day, as well, there are nation-wide sirens in the evening and then again at 11:00 in the morning. Memorial ceremonies are held at the Western Wall Plaza and at military cemeteries throughout the country.

The two days of remembrance are sometimes marked earlier if the days they properly fall on would be Friday, Saturday or Sunday. This is done by an act of the Knesset, in order to prevent public desecration of the Sabbath.

Press pic to see full ceremony

The first of the two days of celebration is Yom HaAtzma’ut, Israel’s Independence Day, which is celebrated on the 5th of the month of Iyyar, immediately after Yom HaZikkaron, Remembrance Day. Yom HaAtzmaut is mostly celebrated outside, with entertainment, fireworks and parties in the evening, and many picnics and barbecues the next day. The appropriate greeting would again be “Chag Sameach.”

Ultra-Orthodox anti-Zionist and even non-Zionist Jews may not celebrate this day at all. It should also be noted that Yom HaAtzma’ut may be a difficult day for Arab citizens, who remember their own national misfortunes as Palestinians, for whom the establishment of the State of Israel was associated with a national tragedy, the Nakba.

Press pic to see full ceremony

The second of the two days of celebration is Yom Yerushalayim, Jerusalem Day, the 28th of Iyyar. The day commemorates what happened on the 3rd day of the 1967 war, when Israeli paratroopers took over the Temple Mount/Haram al-Sharif and the Western Wall/al-Buraq, and is marked as a celebration of the unification of Jerusalem. This is perhaps the most controversial festival in the Jewish calendar. Although it was widely celebrated by Israelis in the 1970’s, since the 1980’s, and especially since the first intifada, it has become primarily the monopoly of the national-religious camp and the parade through the Old City has become a flash-point for provocation and extremism. Outside of that segment of the community and outside of Jerusalem, it may not even be noticed.



Rossing Center logo

More about Judaism

Rossing Center logo
  • All
  • Jewish Basic Concepts
  • Jewish Communities
  • Jewish festivals
  • Jewish Life Cycle
(Venice) La distruzione del tempio di Gerusalemme -Francesco Hayez - gallerie Accademia Venice
Tisha B’Av

Tisha B’Av is a Jewish day of fasting, symbolising the peak of the three week mourning known as Bein ha-Metzarim. It is considered the most …

Introduction: Who are the Jews?

Who exactly are the Jews? There are those (including many Jews themselves) who see them as a religion (like Christianity or Islam) while others see …

The Jewish Calendar – Introduction

Every human culture has particular ways of marking time, calendars and festivals—usually, both feasts and fasts. It is human to seek meaningful ways of marking …


While often mis-translated as “law” Torah means “teaching.”  Torah is used in the widest possible sense including teaching, wisdom, doctrine, heritage and tradition and can …


Mitzvot (pl.) are commandments.  The Talmud calculates that the number of mitzvot commanded by God in the Torah is 613.  These are divided into positive commandments (248 things …

Sages – Hazal

Hazal is an acronym for the Hebrew words Hakhameinu Zikhronam Livrakha (our sages of blessed memory) and refers primarily to the rabbis of the Talmudic period.

The group known as the sages came into being in the second Temple times and continued until the Arab/Muslim conquest – a period of over 1,000 years.  The Sages were dedicated to interpreting the Written Torah (s.v.) and applying it to Jewish life.  According to their own tradition (Pirkei Avot 1:1) the Sages inherited the traditions revealed to Moses orally, passed them on and developed them further.  Belief in the Oral Torah is the most important characteristic of this group.  They are the creators of the Mishna, Talmud and Midrash (s.v. Torah – oral).

Scroll to Top