Halakha is Jewish law.  The word is derived from the Hebrew root .ה.ל.ך meaning “ to go” and it denotes law in the sense that this is the right way to go. (This is similar to sharia` in Islam.)

Halakha is traditionally considered to be divinely sanctioned law and is derived from the rabbinic interpretation of the Torah and other books of the Bible, the Mishna, Talmud and other Rabbinic works and from the rulings of the rabbis themselves.

The scope of Halakha is total and includes not only ritual matters but also civil and criminal topics. Today the broad application of halakha is limited mostly to Jewish religious law. Spheres regulated by halakha include: prayer and ritual behavior, permitted and forbidden foods (see kashrut), Shabbat and holiday practices and regulations, marriage/divorce and also economic relationships.

Deriving from diverse sources and developing over a long period of time, halakha has changed over the ages.  For example, the Torah prohibited the charging of interest on loans (Shemot xxii, 24; Vayikra xxv, 36-38; Devarim xxiii, 20). Because the Rabbis saw that poor people in need of credit were hurt by this measure they made an enactment (taqqanah) which permitted lenders to receive interest. (The application of this enactment is called the heter isqa [Aramaic, permission for business] and is found in banks in Israel today.)

There are also small differences in halakha amongst the major different Jewish groups: Sephardim, Ashkenazim and Orientals.  An example of this is the prohibition of bigamy.  According to Torah law a man is permitted to have more than one wife.  In Ashkenazi practice this has been prohibited by rabbinic enactment for over 1,000 years.  Non-Ashkenazi Jewish men, not bound by the Ashkenazi rabbinic ruling, have been permitted multiple wives unless prohibited by the laws of the state (which is the case in Israel).

The practice of different Jewish groups also differs in ways not covered by halakha.  These differences are considered to be matters of minhag or custom.

A set of contemporary Halacha books (Pearls of Halacha)

Press on pics for source


Rossing Center logo

More about Judaism

Rossing Center logo
  • All
  • Jewish Basic Concepts
  • Jewish Communities
  • Jewish festivals
  • Jewish Life Cycle
(Venice) La distruzione del tempio di Gerusalemme -Francesco Hayez - gallerie Accademia Venice
Tisha B’Av

Tisha B’Av is a Jewish day of fasting, symbolising the peak of the three week mourning known as Bein ha-Metzarim. It is considered the most …

Introduction: Who are the Jews?

Who exactly are the Jews? There are those (including many Jews themselves) who see them as a religion (like Christianity or Islam) while others see …

The Jewish Calendar – Introduction

Every human culture has particular ways of marking time, calendars and festivals—usually, both feasts and fasts. It is human to seek meaningful ways of marking …


While often mis-translated as “law” Torah means “teaching.”  Torah is used in the widest possible sense including teaching, wisdom, doctrine, heritage and tradition and can …


Mitzvot (pl.) are commandments.  The Talmud calculates that the number of mitzvot commanded by God in the Torah is 613.  These are divided into positive commandments (248 things …

Sages – Hazal

Hazal is an acronym for the Hebrew words Hakhameinu Zikhronam Livrakha (our sages of blessed memory) and refers primarily to the rabbis of the Talmudic period.

The group known as the sages came into being in the second Temple times and continued until the Arab/Muslim conquest – a period of over 1,000 years.  The Sages were dedicated to interpreting the Written Torah (s.v.) and applying it to Jewish life.  According to their own tradition (Pirkei Avot 1:1) the Sages inherited the traditions revealed to Moses orally, passed them on and developed them further.  Belief in the Oral Torah is the most important characteristic of this group.  They are the creators of the Mishna, Talmud and Midrash (s.v. Torah – oral).