Tisha B’Av

Tisha B’Av is a Jewish day of fasting, symbolising the peak of the three week mourning known as Bein ha-Metzarim. It is considered the most important fast related to the destruction of the Temple, among which there are four. Furthermore, the day coincides not only with the destruction of the first and second Temple but is believed to be a day where multiple more tragic historical events have taken place.

The fast itself lasts from evening to evening, unlike other fasts that are usually done from morning to evening. Customs includes a number of special mourning customs, such as sitting on the floor, and the prohibition of Torah study.

It is customary, during the fast, to read the Lamentations and mourn the destruction of the Temple and other disasters that have befallen the people.
According to tradition, Tisha B’av will become a day of celebration and joy with the coming of the Messiah and the construction of the Third Temple. Also, there are traditions, such as in the Jerusalem Talmud, which claim that the Messiah is supposed to be born on Tisha B’av.

According to tradition, the first Tisha B’Av happened after the exodus from Egypt when Moses sent out twelve spies and as punishment for their sins the people were prevented from entering the Land. Added on to this is various events in biblical literature such as the destruction of the First and Second Temple.

**The three weeks span between the 17th Tammuz (the day when the wall of the city of Jerusalem was breached in the destruction of the Second Temple) and the fast of Tisha B’av. Various strict customs are maintained and some practice a prolonged period of mourning.

Rossing Center logo

More about Judaism

Rossing Center logo
  • All
  • Jewish Basic Concepts
  • Jewish Communities
  • Jewish festivals
  • Jewish Life Cycle
(Venice) La distruzione del tempio di Gerusalemme -Francesco Hayez - gallerie Accademia Venice
Tisha B’Av

Tisha B’Av is a Jewish day of fasting, symbolising the peak of the three week mourning known as Bein ha-Metzarim. It is considered the most …

Introduction: Who are the Jews?

Who exactly are the Jews? There are those (including many Jews themselves) who see them as a religion (like Christianity or Islam) while others see …

The Jewish Calendar – Introduction

Every human culture has particular ways of marking time, calendars and festivals—usually, both feasts and fasts. It is human to seek meaningful ways of marking …


While often mis-translated as “law” Torah means “teaching.”  Torah is used in the widest possible sense including teaching, wisdom, doctrine, heritage and tradition and can …


Mitzvot (pl.) are commandments.  The Talmud calculates that the number of mitzvot commanded by God in the Torah is 613.  These are divided into positive commandments (248 things …

Sages – Hazal

Hazal is an acronym for the Hebrew words Hakhameinu Zikhronam Livrakha (our sages of blessed memory) and refers primarily to the rabbis of the Talmudic period.

The group known as the sages came into being in the second Temple times and continued until the Arab/Muslim conquest – a period of over 1,000 years.  The Sages were dedicated to interpreting the Written Torah (s.v.) and applying it to Jewish life.  According to their own tradition (Pirkei Avot 1:1) the Sages inherited the traditions revealed to Moses orally, passed them on and developed them further.  Belief in the Oral Torah is the most important characteristic of this group.  They are the creators of the Mishna, Talmud and Midrash (s.v. Torah – oral).